BANANA PANCAKES

banana pancakes

(love me through my camera phone photos)

In my decision to train for a half marathon, I’m looking for healthy yet affordable recipes to try at home. Of course I head over to Pinterest  and pin away.

I came across this idea of 2 ingredient easy banana pancakes. The ingredients? Banana and 2 eggs.

Awesome! Low calories, very inexpensive and healthy. I can deal with that. But as I followed the directions and ate, I was slightly…disappointed?

I like the concept of using bananas as a healthy alternative to a lot foods. Being gluten free it’s a heck of a lot cheaper than gluten free flour and pancake mix. However, as I went to eat it I realized I could taste the egg. When I say I could taste the egg I mean I tasted the egg. I literally said out loud, “this is a fried egg…with banana.”

It wasn’t BAD per say, but it wasn’t what I was expecting, which I can’t tell you what I was expecting to be honest. Maybe I need to add another banana? Add one less egg? Is this because I added two large eggs? What if I just use egg whites instead? Since I had some left over (I wouldn’t keep it more than a couple of days at the most), I decided to add oats to the mixture and blend it in the blender before cooking it. It was more pancake-y and I couldn’t taste the egg (praises). It was also still clean and gluten free so all in all it wasn’t bad, and it was a lot fluffier and less mushy.

Oatmeal banana pancakes copy

(oatmeal banana pancakes)

If you’d like to try it and report back, follow below:

Here’s what you need:
1 very ripe banana
2 eggs
(if you add oats, using 1/2 cup, no more than 1 cup)

Optional:
1 tablespoon vanilla
cinnamon to taste

Here’s what you do:
Mash your banana with your hand or fork in a bowl making sure there’s little to no chunks and set aside.
Beat egg as you would a scrambled egg in a separate bowl then pour it on the mashed bananas. Add your vanilla and cinnamon, should you choose, and mix well.

Heat your pan (medium at the highest as these cook fast) and coat it with non stick spray. I chose Trader Joe’s coconut oil–I’ll fan girl about this later.

Pour mixture into pan and let it cook as you would a normal pancake, but remember these cook fast.

Once they’re cooked on both sides, eat!

What did you think of it? Is it something you’d do again?

Comments

